Expert Working Group (EWG) and Subcommittee Members

In the development of the 2023 National Perinatal Mental Health Guideline, three expert working groups were established to inform and guide the development of the National Guideline.

Expert Working Group (EWG)

Members of the Expert Working Group were nominated by their respective Colleges to represent their profession in the development of the National Guideline:

  • Dr Nicole Highet (Chair) – Centre of Perinatal Excellence (COPE)
  • Professor Marie-Paule Austin (Chair) – Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)
  • Ms Suzanne Higgins – Australian College of Mental Health Nurses (ACMHN)
  • Dr Jan Taylor – Australian College of Midwives (ACM)
  • Ms Tamara Cavenett – Australian Psychological Society (APS)
  • Professor Rhonda Marriott – The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)
  • Ms Denise McDonald – Maternal Child and Family Health Nurses Australia (MCaFNA)
  • Ms Julie Borninkhof – Perinatal Anxiety and Depression Australia (PANDA), representing consumers.
  • Dr Nicole Hall – Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
  • Dr Rachael Hickinbotham – The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG)
  • Dr Nicole Reilly – University of Woolongong
  • Ms Ariane Beeston – Centre of Perinatal Excellence (Consumer Representative)

In addition to the EWG, two Expert Committees were also established to provide specialist expertise.

Expert Subcommittees

Safety and Harms Expert Subcommittee

The Safety and Harms Subcommittee provided expertise surrounding the safe use of medication in pregnancy and the postnatal period:

  • Professor Marie-Paule Austin (Chair) – Perinatal Psychiatrist
  • Professor Phillip Boyce – Perinatal Psychiatrist
  • Professor Megan Gallbally – Perinatal Psychiatrist
  • Dr Dr Delwyn Cupitt – Director, MotherSafe
  • Dr Tram Nguyen – Perinatal Psychiatrist
  • Dr Rebecca Hill – Perinatal Psychiatrist

Fathers and Partners Expert Advisory Committee

The Fathers and Partners Subcommittee provided expertise surrounding screening and psychosocial assessment for fathers and partners in the perinatal period:

  • Mr Dominic Alford – Program Leader, Primary Prevention, Relationships Australia (Victoria)
  • Mr Thomas Docking – CEO, Dads Group
  • A/Prof Richard Fletcher – Assoc Prof, Fathers and Families Research Program, University of Newcastle, SMS4dads
  • A/Prof Rebecca Giallo – Senior Research Fellow, Intergenerational Health Group, MCRI
  • Dr Nicole Highet – Executive Director, Centre of Perinatal Excellence
  • Dr Jacqui Macdonald – Senior Research Fellow – Centre for Social and Early Emotional Development – Deakin; Australian Fatherhood Research Centre
  • Dr Nicole Reilly – Research Fellow, University of Wollongong
  • Dr Karen Wynter – Senior Research Fellow at Deakin University, School of Nursing and Midwifery